Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror

This scary, but wonderful novel is one of three books in the Tales of Terror collection. These tales are told by dead children to Uncle Montague, who in turn tells them to his nephew, Edgar. These are narrated in a frightening manner, as ‘Uncle Montague smiled and nodded, tapping the ends of his fingers together and sinking back into the shadows.’ The genre of this story is horror, which I don’t usually read. I enjoyed these horror tales, as they have more sinister characters than adventure or action books, so therefore it was more interesting.
Normally I would be bored with tale after tale after tale, but I found this book fascinating, because it was filled with imagination. This novel is packed with realism to the extent that I kept reading it, all the way through until late. Making the mistake of reading Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror after dark, I kept having to glance behind me to check Chris Priestley’s creatures weren’t hiding in the shadows.
I would recommend this novel to people who like horror told with imagination. I would give this book a four star rating, because while it was a bit slow to get going, but when it did, I just couldn’t put the book down.

Leave a comment